Under the leadership of its Board of Directors, the chapter membership devotes its efforts to these key areas:

  • Promoting professional development
  • Supporting open government
  • Protecting the First Amendment
  • Advocating for shield laws
  • Understanding and resolving ethical issues
  • Staying informed about relevant issues

SPJ/LA has won many honors, including the national SPJ Circle of Excellence Award in 2009, for its programs aimed at honing professional skills, and keeping abreast of the important issues affecting the practice of journalism. In addition to programs on topical issues in news and media today, the chapter hosts regular informal “mixers” that provide opportunities for networking with other journalists and news sources. And, the chapter members remain consistent campaigners for government openness and a better working relationship between law enforcement and the media. SPJ/LA annually provide scholarships that help worthy college students complete their journalism degrees.


Stephanie Bluestein, President: Assistant Professor at California State University, Northridge 

Christina Cocca, Vice President: Editorial & Programming Lead at Whisper

Sarah Favot, Secretary: Reporter at LA School Report

Richard Hendrickson, Treasurer: Instructor at UCLA Extension


America Arias: KABC-TV News Producer

Tammy Audi: Reporter/Deputy Editor, The Wall Street Journal, West Coast Bureau

Joel Bellman: Online columnist, journalism educator, retired political press aide 

Elizabeth Marcellino: County Beat Reporter at City News Service 

Irene Moore: Digital Desk Producer at NBC4 News

Frank Mottek: Business News Anchor, CBS KNX 1070 Newsradio

Navid Nonahal: Freelance journalist  

Richard Saxton: Multimedia Journalist at Saxtononcars.com 

Alice Walton: Ek, Sunkin, Klink & Bai

Roberta Wax: Freelance writer

David Zahniser: Staff Writer at Los Angeles Times


Linda Bowen: Journalism Department Chair at California State University, Northridge

Claudia Peschiutta: Reporter, KNX-AM 

Julia Seifer: Senior Manager, Special Projects, ABC7 Eyewitness News

Lori Streifler: Editor at City News Service

Natalie Windsor: Freelance journalist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *