Distinguished Journalists and Freedom of Information honorees

The Distinguished Journalists awards, created in 1976, honors journalists “who have achieved a record of accomplishments over the course of a number of years.”

This includes reporters and editors in broadcast, digital and print journalism. In 1997, the chapter began honoring journalists in four categories: television, radio, newspapers with a circulation of 90,000 or more, and newspapers with a circulation of less than 90,000. The Distinguished Work in New Media award was created in 2008 and now digital journalists are recognized alongside their peers in print and broadcast as Distinguished Journalists.

The Freedom of Information award, also created in 1976, is given to people who have helped further the free flow of information and championed freedom of the press. The FoI award is not given every year, and the recipients usually are not journalists.

Gene Blake, Los Angeles Times
Bill Stout, KNXT-TV
U.S. Sen. Alan Cranston, FoI

Linda Deutsch, Associated Press
Jess Marlow, KNBC-TV
Ben Bagkikian, media critic, FoI

Saul Halpert, KNBC-TV
Charles Hillinger, Los Angeles Times
Hon. William O. Douglas, U.S. Supreme Court Justice

Stan Chambers, KTLA-TV
Joyce Peterson, Los Angeles Daily News

Mary Neiswender, Long Beach Press-Telegram
Beverly Reynolds, KNX-radio
Rep. Jerry Lewis, FoI

Jack Smith, Los Angeles Times
Ruth Ashton-Taylor, KNXT-TV
Hon. Bernard Jefferson, Calif. Court of Appeals

Miriam Bjerre-Persoff, KNX-radio
Frank del Olmo, Los Angeles Times
Jonathan Kotler, esquire, FoI

John Marshall, KNBC-TV
Jim Murray, Jim Los Angeles Times
Zev Yaroslavsky, LA City Council member, FoI

Richard Bergholz, Los Angeles Times
Jack Foisie, Los Angeles Times
George Martin, KNX-radio
Clete Roberts, in memoriam, KCET-TV

Bill Boyarsky, Los Angeles Times
Warren Olney, KABC-TV
Bill Farr, Los Angeles Times, FoI

Gladwin Hill, New York Times
Pete Noyes, KNBC-TV
Howard Williams, FoI

Alex Sullivan, KNX-radio
William Thomas, Los Angeles Times

Stephanie Rank Brady, KHJ-TV
Jack Jones, Los Angeles Times
Bill Stout, KCBS-TV FoI

Linda Douglass, KNBC-TV
John Schwada, Herald-Examiner
Mel Opotowsky, Riverside Press-Enterprise, FoI

Rick Orlov, Los Angeles Daily News
Charles Sergis, KFWB-radio
Prof. Charles Jenson, Sonoma State University, FoI

Paul Conrad, Los Angeles Times
Jon Goodman, KNX-radio
Prof. Ben Cunningham, Cal State Long Beach, FoI

Chris Harris, KTTV-TV
Richard Serrano, Los Angeles Times
Terry Francke, Calif. First Amendment Coalition, FoI

Dan Fisher, Los Angeles Times
Hal Fishman, KTLA-TV
Hon. Irwin Nebron, Los Angeles County Superior Court, FoI

David Dow, CBS-radio
Howard Rosenberg, Los Angeles Times
William Rosendahl,
Century Cable, FoI

Jim Giggans, KNBC-TV
Jim Newton, Los Angeles Times
State Sen. Quentin L. Kopp, FoI

Al Martinez, Los Angeles Times
Jose Rios, KTTV-TV
Kelli Sager, esquire, Davis Wright Tremaine, FoI

John Bogert, Daily Breeze
Dennis McCarthy, Los Angeles Daily News
John North, KABC-TV
Jack Popejoy, KFWB-radio
Douglas Mirell, esquire, Loeb & Loeb, FoI

Martin Berg, Los Angeles Daily Journal
Joel Grover, KCBS-TV
Warren Olney, KCRW-radio
Leo Wolinsky, Los Angeles Times
Rex Heinke, esquire, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, FoI

Mark Coogan, KABC-TV
Pete Demetriou, KFWB-radio
Greg Krikorian and Nicholas Riccardi, Los Angeles Times
Cheryl Romo, Los Angeles Daily Journal
State Sen. Byron Scher, FoI

Bob Sims, KNX-radio
Bob Tarlau, KTTV-TV
Pat Teague, City News Service
Tracy Wood, Orange County Register
Hon. Terry Friedman, Los Angeles Superior Court, Juvenile Division, FoI

Ronnie Bradford, KNX Newsradio
Warren Wilson, KTLA-TV
Wendy Thomas Russell, Long Beach Press-Telegram
Howard Blume, L.A. Weekly
former Assemblyman William T. Bagley, FoI

Kitty Felde, KPCC-FM
Judy Muller, ABC News
Jean Adelsman, retired, Daily Breeze
Sue Manning, The Associated Press
Prof. Erwin Chemerinsky, University of Southern California, FoI

George Nicholaw, former KNX Newsradio general manager
Jeff Wald, KTLA-TV
Lori Streifler, City News Service
Steve Lopez, Los Angeles Times
Prof. Eugene Volokh, UCLA, FoI

Carolyn Cole, Los Angeles Times
Jim Hattendorf, KCBS-TV and KCAL-TV
Mark Lacter, Los Angeles Business Journal
Ed Pyle, KNX-AM
Susan Seager, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP, FoI

John Antczak, Associated Press
David Zahniser, Copley News Service
Steve Kindred, KFWB-AM
Julia Seifer, ABC7 Eyewitness News
Karlene W. Goller, Esq., Los Angeles Times, FoI
Frank Wilkinson (in memoriam), First Amendment Foundation

George Skelton, Los Angeles Times
Larry Altman, Daily Breeze,
Dave Bryan, CBS 2-KCAL 9,
Eric Leonard, KFI-AM (640)

Bob Banfield, KABC-TV
Beth Barrett, the Los Angeles Daily News
John Rabe, KPCC-FM
Tom Tugend, the Jewish Journal of Greater Los Angeles.
Scott Glover and Matt Lait, Los Angeles Times, FoI

John Schwada, KTTV Fox 11 in Los Angeles
Frank Stoltze, 89.3-KPCC, NPR Los Angeles
Paul Pringle, Los Angeles Times
Terri Vermeulen Keith, City News Service
Kevin Roderick, LA Observed
Nick Ut, The Associated Press, lifetime achievement
Thomas W. Newton and James W. Ewert, California
Newspaper Publishers Association, FoI

Celeste Fremon, creator and editor of
Dave Lopez, CBS2/KCAL9 News
Denise Nix, The Daily Breeze
Claudia Peschiutta, KNX
Andrew Blankstein, Los Angeles Times

Ralph Vartabedian, Los Angeles Times
Dennis Anderson, Antelope Valley Press
Conan Nolan, NBC
Larry Mantle, 89.3 KPCC
Robert Scheer, Truthdig

Bob Pool, Los Angeles Times
Howard Fine, Los Angeles Business Journal Lisa Bartley, ABC7
Bob Moon, American Public Media
Jesus Sanchez, The Eastsider LA
Donald Zachary, FoI

Marty Sauerzopf, City News Service
Dan Evans, Times Community News
Beverly White, NBC4
Andy Ludlum, CBS2
Sharon Waxman,
Jean-Paul Jassy, FoI

Sandy Banks, Los Angeles Times
Jon Regardie, Los Angeles Downtown News
Damien Newton, Southern California Streets Initiative
Oswaldo Borraez, Univision 34
John Brooks, KNX
Brian Humphrey, Los Angeles Fire Department

Jacques Clafin, City News Service
Gustavo Arellano, OC Weekly
Keith Goldstein, KCSN
Cheryl Kunin Fair, KABC7
Michelle Levander,,
Mona Shafer Edwards

Steve Loeper, Associated Press
Frank Suraci, Daily Breeze
Frank Mottek, KNX-radio
David Ono, ABC7
Adrian Glick Kudler, Curbed LA
Theodore Boutrous, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP.
Don Barrett,

Hector Becerra, Los Angeles Times
R. Scott Moxley, OC Weekly
Greg Habell, KNX-radio
Adrienne Alpert, ABC7
Ken Bensinger, Jeremy Singer-Vine and Jessica Garrison, BuzzFeed News

Kim Masters, The Hollywood Reporter
Robin Abcarian, Los Angeles Times
Sharon McNary, 89.3 KPCC
Miriam Hernandez, ABC7
Norberto Santana, Voice of OC
Kelly Aviles, Californians Aware, FoI