SPJ/LA Announces Newly Elected Board Members

LOS ANGELES – The Greater Los Angeles chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists elected seven members to serve three-year terms on the group’s 15-member board, beginning Jan. 1, 2019.

Carolina Garcia, recently retired editor of the Los Angeles Daily News who is now an adjunct professor at the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, and Jason Lewis, publisher of Los Angeles Standard, were newly elected to the board.

Five incumbents were re-elected. They are: Joel Bellman, freelance journalist; Stephanie Stassel Bluestein, associate professor of journalism at CSUN; Sarah Favot, freelance journalist; Navid Nonahal, freelance journalist; and David Zahnizer, staff writer for the Los Angeles Times.

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s largest and most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to promoting high standards of ethical behavior and encouraging the free practice of journalism. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. The Greater Los Angeles professional chapter was chartered 25 years later in 1934.

Comments are closed.