SPJ/LA Announces 2015 Officers and Newly Elected Board Members

SPJ/LA Announces 2015 Officers and Newly Elected Board Members

The Greater Los Angeles Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists has elected its 2015 officers.

Navid Nonahal, the chapter’s current president and a freelance journalist will begin her second term on Jan. 1, 2015. Stephanie Bluestein, a journalism professor at California State University, Northridge, will serve as vice president. Los Angeles Times reporter David Zahniser will be secretary, while Richard Hendrickson, a journalism teacher at California State University, Northridge, John Carroll University in Cleveland and UCLA Extension, will serve as treasurer.

SPJ/LA also elected five members to serve three-year terms on the group’s 15-member board.

The incumbent board members who were re-elected are: Tammy Audi, reporter and editor for the Wall Street Journal; Frank Mottek, business news anchor and host of the KNX Business Hour on CBS station KNX 1070 Newsradio; Roberta Wax, freelance writer; and Jeff Wald, executive director of Mobile Generated News. The newly elected board member is Christina Cocca, a digital news producer from NBC4.

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s largest and most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to promoting high standards of ethical behavior and encouraging the free practice of journalism. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. The Greater Los Angeles professional chapter was chartered 25 years later in 1934.


Comments are closed.